Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad WWOOF?

by horsleyrichie

monk in beds

If you had to live in an intentional community for the next ten years, what would you be most afraid of?

Perhaps you’d worry that you’d have to give away your savings? Would you fear being thought a fool by your children or parents? Are you afraid that chopping firewood would get terribly boring? Or maybe you’re scared that they’ll be no way to hide your grey hair and wrinkles?

But this blogpost is not like my others. It is not a story in which I demystify intentional communities. It is not another criticism of the ‘mainstream’ world via a comparison to a virtuous eco-village. The aim of this piece is to create a discussion. Right here, right now.

I would like everyone who reads this blog to write in the comment box below. I would like everyone to answer this question:

If you had to live in an intentional community for the next ten years, what would you be most afraid of?

***

This is not about finding out who’s good and who’s bad. This is about creating a dinner party discussion about intentional communities, with the added protection of online anonymity.

I hope that people will be honest about their insecurities and prejudices. This is a chance to voice any nagging question related to intentional living, be it, ‘Ooh I’m not sure about this, Rich – would I be allowed to drink Diet Coke?’ or ‘What happens if I get pneumonia and I’m living too far from the nearest hospital?’

ugly food

I admit this is a selfish request, but sometimes writing this blog is very lonely, and I love it when people comment on my pieces. But don’t worry, just because I want attention doesn’t mean you have to suffer it too. I know that it can be embarrassing to reveal your weaknesses and doubts in the cold clear world of the internet. So here’s what you do …

It is very easy to comment below without revealing your identity. The comment box will ask you for your name and email address: both can be totally fictional. You can write …

Name – Mr Sweet Tooth / Email – ibrushmyteethwithcoke@gmail.com

… and it will be fine. The email address does not need to really exist.

***

So! Let’s get to it. Not enough chocolate? Missing the Chelsea games? Being accused of having a mid-life crisis? Scared that your girlfriend would leave you?

Whatever.

If you had to live in an intentional community for the next ten years, what would you be most afraid of?

This is your chance to share your thoughts with the other readers of All I Want For Christmas Is A New World. Please be brave and honest.

